God's Girl

Finding the extraordinary in the ordinary

Camo: God’s Will for Me?

on April 17, 2014

 

I parked my car and did one more makeup and hair check in the mirror.

I could not wait to meet my husband for lunch.

It had been a busy week, so we had scheduled a little time for just the two of us.

As I walked into the food court on the military post, I suddenly felt like I was staring at a

page in a “Where’s Waldo” book.

I could not find my husband aka “Waldo” anywhere.

I knew the food court would be busy today, but I had not anticipated looking

into the sea of camouflage that stood before me.

Soldiers….Everywhere.

My husband was dressed in camo, too!

How would find him?

I walked around the same way I do when I have misplaced my car

 in the parking lot.

I looked confident, but I was lost.

Thankfully, it wasn’t long before my husband saw my confusion and

 walked over to me.

“Over here!” he called. 

As he came closer, I recognized him by his walk.

A moment later his face became clear.

When he came into focus my confusion quickly ended.

Time to be with my partner and my friend, just the two of us lost in a sea of camouflage.

 

So many times I find myself lost in a sea of confusion.

Unsure what the  next move in my life should be.

I look around at so many options that seem right.

 

Which one is best? 

 

“God, is that you?” I find myself asking.

 

“What do you want next?”

 

“Where do we go from here?”

 

“Could you  just be a little more clear?”

 

“It’s me April.”

 

“Remember me?”

 

“Have you forgotten?”

 

“You don’t seem to be answering in a way I can understand.”

 

I’m getting frustrated!”

 

“WHERE ARE YOU, GOD?”

 

What do I do at a time like this?

 

I remember.

 

I remember His promises.

 

I remember how He has been faithful in the past.

 

I soak myself in His word.

 

I remember to remove myself from the crowd.

I may not always be able to do this physically in all situations, but I can do this mentally.

James 4: 8 “Come near to God and he will come near to you.”

 

I remember that I was not created to wear camo.

Romans 12:2  Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be

 transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test

and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will. 

 
 I Peter 1:14

 As obedient children, do not conform to the evil desires you had when

 you lived in ignorance.

 

 I remember to seek Him before all others.

There are many wonderful people in this world.

People full of knowledge and wisdom.

The things they say may seem right.

They may even be right.

God certainly uses people and circumstances to point us to Him.

Never at any point people and circumstances be substitutes for time in His word and prayer.  

 Proverbs 3:5-7 5 Trust in the LORD with all your heart 
 and lean not on your own understanding; 
 in all your ways submit to him, 
 and he will make your paths straight.

 

If you are following God today, you don’t have to worry about what His will will be tomorrow.

I'd love to hear your opinion on today's topic! Comment below. I want to hear from you.

