God's Girl

Finding the extraordinary in the ordinary

Last

on April 17, 2014

Chrysanthemum

Last.

It’s a position no one really wants to be in.

Were you ever last to be picked for the team?

Have you been stuck at the end of a long line at the store?

How do you feel when you are last?

I am the youngest child in my family.

My life was full of lasts.

Last to get to ride in the front seat.

Last to drive.

Last to be able to stay out late.

Last to graduate.

I remember saying more than once: “But my brother gets to do it! Why does he get to have all the fun?”

Yep, not much fun.

I lived most of my life at the “kiddie table” just waiting for my turn to join the “big kids”.

 

Yet, there is a time I always want to be last.

Can you guess what it is?

 

The last word.

I want it.

I want it badly.

When tempers flare or someone treats me unfairly, it has to be mine.

So many times, I will walk away and think of what I could have said.

“What a zinger!”, I think to myself.

“That would have really put them in their place!”

Why do the good comebacks seem to arrive so late?

Could it be that my “great comeback” would have pushed that person away?

Of course, that’s what I want to do at the time.

I want to push that person away.

I want to be right.

Funny thing about last words.

They last.

As a Christian, I can’t afford to operate the way the world does.

Pushing others away does not draw people closer to Christ.

My negative words plant a seed that can easily become roots of bitterness in others.

Long after I have forgotten what I said, others may be reaping the harvest of my bitterness.

What kind of harvest do I want others to reap because of my actions?

I have responsibility here.

My words, my thoughts, my actions, have temporary power.

I want to have the last word.

It’s not the kind of last word I think of right away when someone wounds me.

It’s not a snappy comeback.

It is the One who is coming back!

Jesus, the word made flesh.

God’s thoughts, his actions, his words have everlasting power.

Only He has power to save.

He is the first word.

He will be the last!

That brings me comfort.

He is the defense attorney.

I don’t have to keep defending myself.

Let that soak in.

I don’t have to keep defending myself.

I heard a friend tell her daughter recently, “Weed your own garden.”

Do I want a garden with thorns and vines that tangle and injure or one of beauty that invites others to enjoy and relax?

The choice is mine.

It’s yours, too.

God,

Please teach me what to say and when to say it today. I need your help.

Amen

 

 

2 responses to “Last

  1. grammy2118 says:

    Reblogged this on Random Thoughts on Life and commented:
    My friend April wrote this. Follow her blog on WordPress and she will inspire you!

I'd love to hear your opinion on today's topic! Comment below. I want to hear from you.

