God's Girl

Finding the extraordinary in the ordinary

The Big Bang Theory Guy and a Lesson in Humility

on April 25, 2014

 

The Big Bang theory guy is a genius, no doubt.

Today I met someone who makes him look like the village idiot.

I took the kids to a talk for families on size of the universe.

“It will broaden their horizons.”, I said.

I think it might have broadened mine.

I understood exactly half of what the speaker, a former NASA advisor, was talking about.

Here’s the main thing I learned:

The “I’m smarter than the Big Bang Theory” dude showed us the pictures below.

Scroll down a bit.

You’ll see what I’m talking about.

The earth seems big compared to a few planets.

Look at the first picture below.

I knew we were big stuff, right?

After all, we are the earth.

Hello!

Scroll down a bit more.

We got a little smaller didn’t we?

Now scroll down some more.

That’s the Earth compared to the sun.

And folks, it only gets worse from there.

 

 

 

Planets for dinner

Remember, the story “Horton Hears a Who”?

At this point, I felt like yelling: “WE ARE HERE!! WE ARE HERE!!”

Maybe that would not have been quite appropriate in a room full of people.

I resisted the urge.

Sometimes I think I’m big stuff.

I compare myself to a few other people.

I don’t look too bad at all.

After all, I don’t have that habit.

I don’t do those things.

I can’t compare myself to others.

It’s just not fair.

It’s like the Earth compared to a few other planets.

It’s not the full picture.

To get that I have to go to the One who created the universe.

Now considering He is even bigger than anything He created, I would say He is big stuff.

I can’t get over it, really.

The universe is so big and we haven’t even discovered all of it yet.

We can’t wrap our minds around it.

God is even bigger.

Yet how small do I make Him?

How big do I make myself?

Do my problems seem bigger than Him?

Should they?

Kinda reminds me of David when he spoke these words in Psalm 8:

“3 When I consider your heavens,
    the work of your fingers,
the moon and the stars,
    which you have set in place,
what is mankind that you are mindful of them,
    human beings that you care for them?

Why God would care for itty, bitty me on this tiny little planet?

I have no idea.

I will tell you this.

I am thankful.

I am thankful for my big God.

I am thankful for his big love because it sure means a lot in my little universe.

“He must increase. I must decrease.”- John the Baptist

I'd love to hear your opinion on today's topic! Comment below. I want to hear from you.

