God's Girl

Finding the extraordinary in the ordinary

The Gift Giver

on May 18, 2014

“Mom, why do I have to do the things I do?”, she said as I tucked her into bed.

I sighed.

I could relate.

“Well, the things in you aren’t bad, but they do have to be used in the right way. That’s why we correct you. We want you to learn.”

She seemed to be soaking my words in.

“Even my stubbornness?”

As I gave her a hug, I gently whispered, “Yes, even stubbornness.”

 

The next day, I asked her to come sit with me for a moment.

“Do you remember what we talked about last night just before bed?’

She nodded.

Did you know that most of the people in the bible were stubborn?

“Yes, Mom, they didn’t follow God and they got in trouble.”

I could almost feel her roll her eyes.

She assumed she knew exactly where I was going with this.

I surprised her when I said, “Well, there were those people. That’s true. That isn’t what  I’m talking about. The great people of God…the ones that God used to do really cool stuff, all had one thing in common. They were stubborn. They stubbornly followed God. Let’s think for a moment about Noah. How was he stubborn?” She smiled, then replied, “He didn’t listen when people made fun of him for making that boat.”
“That’s right, honey. I don’t want you to feel bad about who you are. God made you. He put you together while you were inside me. He designed you in a fearful and wonderful way. He gave you everything you need to do what he wants you to do. He has a plan just for you. It is for no one else, so you don’t have to be like everyone else. Understand?”

We talked together a while longer.

After she left the room, I sat on my bed and thanked God.

I’m screwed up and I’ve screwed up, too.

I get frustrated.

I compare.

“Why can’t I be like___?”

Sometimes I just compare myself to the version of the perfect woman, perfect mom, wife or Christian living inside my head.

It’s a standard I have dreamed up.

My list of what I am not bogs me down.

I feel the weight.

The “never enough” consumes me.

The truth is I will never be enough.

The Giver of good gifts gave me what I need to be who I am.

He gave me everything I need to do what he wants me to do.

It’s when I try to live up to what I think I should be, that I get in trouble.

This doesn’t mean I should not grow.

Of course, I need to grow.

I just don’t need to grow to be more like you.

You don’t need to grow to be more like me either.

The goal is to become more Him.

That’s where I find the real me.

The goal is to serve the God that I love while doing what I love best.

It’s like opening the gift you have always wanted.

When you play with it you feel delight.

Living my purpose is a lot like that.

It’s natural.

It’s instinctive.

You don’t need to tell a child to open up a gift and play with it.

Heck, they don’t even care how it’s wrapped.

They just want the treasure inside!

I hear God speaking, “Enjoy my creation. I made you. Love yourself like I love you, then you will be able to love others the way I do.”

Just like a parent loves watching a child open gifts on Christmas morning, my God loves watching me open his gifts.

Why spend time with an unopened gift just because I don’t like the way it’s wrapped?

God loves to see me open up my purpose with delight.

He loves to see me play with it.

He loves to see me walk in it.

He loves to see me pursue it, dream it and inspire with it.

What gift does he have waiting just for you?

Have you opened your heart up to him?

Rip open the paper.

See what’s inside.

What do you dream about?

If you could do anything with no limitations (time, money, etc.), what would you choose?

God made YOU who YOU are for a reason!

Who YOU are is a gift!

Who needs what you have to give?

Tell me what you dream about in the comment section.

What frustrates you about yourself?

How can God use that quality?

 

 

I'd love to hear your opinion on today's topic! Comment below. I want to hear from you.

