God's Girl

Finding the extraordinary in the ordinary

Burnt Out

on June 26, 2014

 

 

My family and I drove by a popular restaurant sign a few nights ago.

Our children nearly fell over laughing in the back seat.

“Look, Mom, that sign says, “Affle House”, “you know, like, Awful House.”

The first letter of the sign had burnt out, sending my family into fits of laughter.

Sometimes I feel burnt out.

It seems to get harder to keep it all together.

I get tired of burning the candle at both ends so I just let one end fizzle out.

I’m running on empty, yet I keep going.

It has to get done and it has to get done now!

The tyranny of the urgent.

 

 

One of the first things to go for me is usually my time spent in the Word.

My big “W” that used to shine brightly becomes dim, until it eventually burns out.

When that happens, my body, the house God entrusted to me, can quickly turn into the awful house.

 

My temper flares.

My sleep is affected.

My money spends faster.

My food gets junkier.

My workout time becomes a distant memory.

 

Take a moment to think about what is beginning to flicker out in your life.

 

What is one of the first things to go when you fizzle out?

Maybe it’s a habit that keeps you healthy.

Sometimes a relationship is neglected.

Financial situations may  get ignored.

 

Try to catch it now before the burn out.

Who really wants to reach the point of being the “Affle House”?

Listen, Dear One, urgency is a killer of the soul!

Is it really worth killing yourself to get it all done?

Is there something you can say “no” to this week, so you can say “yes” to your sanity.

Talk to God about it.

Sometimes taking a nap, eating healthier, or spending time with an important person in your life is the most Godly thing you can do.

Write it on your “to do” list.

Don’t feel guilty for self care.

Don’t drop the big “W” and become the awful house, when stress enters your life.

You can avoid this!

You can.

I’ll be here rooting for you and cheering you on.

No guilt here, Dear One, just move forward and do one thing today that will prevent burn out tomorrow.

 

Leave me a comment to let me know what fizzles out first in your life.

What will you cut out or do differently this week?

I want to hear from you!

 

2 responses to “Burnt Out

  1. I thought that was an interesting list of what happens in burn out. You don’t think of the spend money one and the junkier food one but when you see it written like that you say ‘but of course!` I think sleep fizzles first in my life, which of course is key to pulling a lot of the other things together.

I'd love to hear your opinion on today's topic! Comment below. I want to hear from you.

