God's Girl

Finding the extraordinary in the ordinary

The Bridge

on July 2, 2014

I recently read about a 22 year-old woman who decided to bungee jump from the Victoria Falls Bridge in Africa.

Erin Longworthy was looking for the thrill of a lifetime.

I believe she got it.

She was 365 feet above the Zambesi River when her cord snapped suddenly dropping her to the crocodile infested waters below.

Somehow she was able to swim safely to the banks with a broken collar bone and her legs tied together.

”You get sucked under and then you pop up, so it’s very disorienting – – I didn’t know which way was up or down.”

Erin said her trailing cord would repeatedly snag, so she “had to swim down and yank the bungee cord out of whatever it was caught on to make it to the surface.” (www.foxnews.com)
You may not think you could ever relate this woman.

You can.

I can, too.

Our cord has snapped….you and me.

We have fallen.

From the moment Adam fell, we have lived in a world of sin.

A world that can suck us under leaving us disoriented and confused.

The truth is twisted in this place we inhabit.

It’s not easy to know which way is up and which way is down.

Confusion abounds and threatens to take us down into the murky depths of dark lies.

(Photo courtesy of businessinsider.com)

We try to unsnag ourselves, but we quickly find we can’t do it on our own.

We see the banks of safety and stability.

We recognize the solid ground.

We just can’t get there.

It’s a daunting task.

The task of a savior.

That is why Jesus had to come.

I hear people say, “God helps those who help themselves.”

I can’t save myself.

He had to help me.

He took our place long before we even knew we needed help.

That’s why you don’t have to fear today, Dear One.

That’s why tomorrow doesn’t have to be so scary.

 

God loved us so much that he gave his only son, so we wouldn’t get eaten up by our enemy in the murky waters of life.

He became the living water, so that we could drink in his truth and be nourished by it.

He became the bridge because he knew we could never find our way alone.

 

So today and every day of my life I will cry out to him knowing that he has saved me.

He is my bridge over troubled waters!

Why should I be afraid?

He saved me before I knew I needed saving.

He can save you to.

Only problem is you have to want to be rescued.

You have to stretch out your arm and let go of that need to save yourself.

Stop thrashing around in murky waters!

When I “gave my heart” to Jesus it wasn’t a one time deal.

When you ask God to come into your life that’s when he rescues you, but that isn’t all there is.

Every day I  have to give my heart to him over and over again.

This is the only thing that keeps me afloat.

God wants us to do more than just stay afloat…me and you.

He wants more than survival for those He loves.

He wants you to thrive….to love like you have never loved before…to live swimming deep in the vast ocean of His love.

He wants you to return to Him each day to swim in that love.

He also wants us to walk with others on the land, to speak to them about what we find in the deep.

When you find treasure, why bury it?

Tell the world about His love.

 

Today, Dear One, what’s on your mind as you read this?

Please comment and tell me your thoughts below.

 

 

I'd love to hear your opinion on today's topic! Comment below. I want to hear from you.

