God's Girl

Finding the extraordinary in the ordinary

Thief

on July 13, 2014

 

 

Today I think I’ll begin my life of crime.

 

Yep, you heard right.

Today, I’m changing who I am.

I’m going to be a thief.

I’m going to steal everything I can.

I won’t regret it one bit!

I’m not looking back.

I’m just doing it.

Look out world!

 

You see, I’m stuck.

Caught up in a difficult situation.

There’s really no way out, so I’m desperate.

The way I see it, I have only one of two choices.

When something hard to go through comes my way, I can either let it rob me or I can rob it.

 

I’m done with hard times stealing my joy.

I’m stealing it back!

I’m giving them straight to Jesus.

 

I’m done with a negative attitude.

I’m stealing those thoughts and words.

I am stealing every opportunity this blessing in ugly wrapping paper provides.

 

I’m choosing a life on the run.

I’ll run away from things that easily tangle me up.

No more giving temptation a second glance.

 

I’m running off with the treasures inside that ugly paper.

I’ll take what I’m learning and use it.

 

Even better, I think I’ll become a Robin Hood.

I’ll take the things I learn:

my new attitude,

lips of praise

and a heart of gratitude.

I’ll give them away!

I will give thanks in every circumstance, even the hard ones.

Especially the hard ones.

 

What caused this life change?

Well, that’s simple.

Fleas.

I just read The Hiding Place by Corrie Ten Boom.

While she and her sisters were prisoners in a concentration camp, they gave thanks for the fleas.

What??

Wait a second….

FLEAS?!!

Really?

I was shocked.

Now I love Jesus, but really why on earth would I thank Him for fleas?

I’m more of a “Take the fleas away” prayer kinda girl.

But you know what I found out as I turned the page of her book one day?

The group of women Corrie lived with at the camp had prayer time and bible study right there in their living quarters everyday, undisturbed by Nazi guards.

 

Now how could that be possible?

Enter the fleas…

In the midst of a living hell, heaven came!

The guards wouldn’t come anywhere close to them all because of those darn fleas!

Somehow I will never look at life the same way again.

I’m a changed woman!

I’m a blessed woman!

One who is deeply loved by a God I can’t begin to understand!
So pretty soon you may see me on America’s Most Wanted.

That’s my hope anyway.

I want people to want what I have.

I want a crime family.

Led by the one and only God-the-Father.

I want to be filled with God’s light, His life and His love in every circumstance.

Truth is God has provided everything I need for my happiness.

That is called contentment, my friend.

So won’t you join me in a life of crime?

“Let us hold unswervingly to the hope we profess, for he who promised is faithful.” Hebrews 10:23

I'd love to hear your opinion on today's topic! Comment below. I want to hear from you.

