God's Girl

Finding the extraordinary in the ordinary

My Knees Only Hurt on Sundays

on January 16, 2013

 

I thought my husband was crazy. He scheduled a doctor’s appointment for my son to get his feet checked out. Daniel, my 7 year-old son had been complaining that his feet hurt for quite some time. I felt silly and foolish walking into the doctor’s office. I thought for sure the doctor would think I was some crazy, overprotective Mom who scheduled an appointment for every little thing. The doctor playfully asked Daniel and I many questions after he sat down across from us in the room. He was good with Daniel. He put him at ease instantly. The doctor’s casual demeanor made me think that there must not be a lot going on in the doctor’s office that day. I could not believe he was taking this seriously!

After asking Daniel lots of questions about his feet, he also asked Daniel, “Do your knees hurt?” Daniel said, “Yes, but only on Sundays!” as he began to giggle. I tried to keep a straight face. Obviously, this was getting us no where. Pretty soon the doctor would boot us out of the office and I would feel pretty stupid.

The doctor asked Daniel to climb up on the exam table. He poked and prodded on Daniel’s feet. He touched one particular area on Daniel’s foot and Daniel yelped in pain. He touched another area behind his heel. Daniel yelped again. Now I was intrigued. Maybe there was something to this. He touched Daniel’s knees. The doctor asked, “Do you knees hurt?” Daniel replied,”It’s not Sunday!” (Oh, brother here we go again!) The doctor informed me that Daniel has Sever’s disease. Sounds dark and ominous doesn’t it? Turns out it’s not dark and ominous at all. Daniel is growing very fast and it’s affecting the growth plate on the bottom of his foot and stretching his tendons, making them feel tight and achy.  Growing pains to the max! He will have to ice his feet and stretch them every night to help avoid injury.

Growing can hurt, but growing too quickly can be downright excruciating. Daniel seems to have grown two sizes in the past two months. Everything that had felt comfortable to him before just doesn’t anymore. Have you been there? You change in some way. You grow, but the rest of the world seems to stay the same.

Let’s do a quick growth test.

1) Does everything feel comfortable in your life right now?

2)Do you have the same friends you have always had?

3)Is your day to day routine pretty much the same?

4) Has life become less exciting?

Truth is you may feel as if you haven’t grown in a while.

Maybe you are on the other end of the spectrum.

Maybe you have moved.

Maybe you just began a new job.

You may have had some new insight or something sudden happen that has completely changed your perspective.

You have changed somehow.

Now how do you adjust to these changes.

I am much better at raising questions than having the answers.

Today, let me comfort and encourage you with this…when you grow…when you change…when things around you no longer fit the way they did before…there is one who never changes. God is stable. His foundation is unshakable. When you stand on that foundation you will be too.  That doesn’t mean you won’t have bad days or feel unstable at times. It does mean you have one you can always trust and depend on when life seems unsure.

I don’t know if you are growing rapidly or feel as if you aren’t growing at all, but I do know this God wants us to grow. Sure God loves you where you are. He has always loved you and always will. He just loves you so much that he won’t let you stay the same today as you were yesterday. Listen to this dear friend.

Ephesians 4:15-16

God wants us to grow up, to know the whole truth and tell it in love-like Christ in everything. We take our lead from Christ who is the source of everything we do. He keeps us in step with each other. His very breath and blood flow through us, nourishing us so that we will grow up healthy in God, robust in love.

One other thing I am learning. As I grow, I need to give myself grace and I need to extend that grace to other people. I need to rest in what God is doing in me and let others feel accepted and loved as they journey through life too.

I'd love to hear your opinion on today's topic! Comment below. I want to hear from you.

